Items

Phantom Sword – The Legend of Zelda, Phantom Hourglass

Phantom Sword
Click to see full size

After recently completing this game, I was saddened to find that one of the coolest blades from the series is only obtained at the very end of the game, just before taking on the final dungeon. And so, here it is, in all its glory!

The smartest design that I noted from the original, aside from the hourglass embedded within the hilt, is that the hilt itself is designed to look like the hourglass housing too! It’s a great little touch, and I was happy to see it!

I decided that the setting of the game was mostly nautical, and so to give the image a little flavour I set up a quick sandy beach for the sword to be resting on. It’s not too unusual – in Link’s Awakening on the GameBoy, Link’s sword is found along the coast too!

On an additional side-note, when I asked my wife’s opinion on the design (which she adds was made without her wearing her glasses), she has said that the hilt made it look like the female reproductive system. Well, I kind of see what she means, so I can’t argue too much, I guess!

-Odd (Martin)

Leave a Reply

